Standard Auto Insurance
The state of Florida requires every vehicle with four or more wheels maintain Florida Auto Insurance coverage. When you register your vehicle you must have proof of Florida coverage. The minimum requirement is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
If you have been in a crash or convicted of certain offenses, the Florida DMV can request you purchase additional auto insurance coverage such as bodily injury liability coverage (BIL).
PDL is insurance that pays for damages that you or another permitted driver in your household cause to another person’s property in an auto accident.
You may know PIP better as Florida No-Fault Insurance, as a Personal Injury Protection policy covers you whether or not you have caused an auto accident. This coverage will also insure members of your household, children, and certain passengers who do not carry PIP insurance and do not own a vehicle.
Passengers in your vehicle who carry PIP will be covered by their PIP policy in the event of a crash resulting in any injury while riding in your car. Additionally, if your child is hurt on a school bus, and protects you if you are injured in an accident while riding in another person’s vehicle.
Collision coverage covers the cost of repairing your vehicle in the event of any kind of accident, whether it's with another car or an object, such as a utility pole or fire hydrant. Comprehensive insurance covers damage or loss of your vehicle in the event of theft, natural disaster or any other damage to your vehicle not caused by a collision.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage is an auto policy option which covers one for property damage and bodily injury caused by another driver who does not have insurance. You are required to get uninsured motorists information if you are involved in an accident with someone who doesn't have insurance. This is not to be confused with a hit and run.
Rental Car reimbursement pays for a rental car when your vehicle is damaged or stolen. It Is also reimbursement for car rental expenses if the primary vehicle on the policy is in the shop due to an accident.
Because of the legal severity of the infraction, drivers arrested for a DUI are often required to carry high-risk insurance. For this reason, many individuals find themselves dropped from their existing coverage. The first step toward getting your license back is to secure the necessary insurance. A broker can help seek out companies willing to extend high-risk insurance and can help find coverage at a price you can afford.
Florida DUI Insurance Requirements
Referred to as FR-44 insurance coverage, Florida Statute 324.023, mandates that any person convicted of DUI in the state of Florida is required to obtain a minimum level of insurance coverage before they can reinstate their driver’s license and also maintain this coverage for three-years after the date of conviction.
Minimum Insurance Coverage Limits
In Florida, this minimum level of insurance coverage is $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence and $50,000 property damage and breaks down as follows:
$100,000 per person, per accident for Bodily Injury Liability damages. While you may have $300,000 in total coverage for a single occurrence, each injured individual can be paid no more than $100,000 for bodily injury sustained in an accident.
$300,000 per accident for Bodily Injury Liability damages. This is the minimum amount your your insurance must be able to pay to all claimants in an accident. This coverage covers the medical bills, lost wages, and other personal injuries of a person injured by you.
$50,0000 in property damage caused by the accident. If you collide with another automobile, it is this portion of your insurance coverage that pays for the other automobile’s repair or replacement.